Colour Splash Snail

Recently, I have been experimenting with Colour Splash photography. For the uninitiated, this the process of basically colouring in certain parts of a black and white photo. I have been using an app called Colour Splash Effect, and, while I generally like to take unadulterated photos, I have to say it gets quite addictive! 

Each evening I put out cat biscuits for the four or five wild hedgehogs that come into my garden for supper. Now I know what you’re thinking. What on earth has that got to do with colour splash and a photo of a snail? Well, I’ll tell you. Pretty soon after I began my nightly cat biscuit ritual, it became apparent that it was not only the hedgehogs that were enjoying a free supper. There were lots of slugs and snails too! They love them, and to be honest, since they’ve been feeding on the cat biscuits, they have no interest in eating my plants. It’s win win! 

This particular snail – I’ve called it Sammy – was one such gastropod that came last evening for a free bite to eat. I decided to photograph him/her and then play around with the image with the Colour Splash Effect app. I have to say I’m quite pleased with the result. 

Oh, and in case you don’t believe me about the whole slug/snail/cat biscuit thing, I have included a second photo  by way of proof! (It’s not a great photo, I know, but it’s not easy taking photos in the dark while trying not to stand on things!)

cpt_1471873436697
Sammy the colour splash snail!
IMG_20160821_235105
A literal slug-fest!

seal

Get in touch

