A Doozy of a Duesy!

cpt_1471702744900
1935 Duesenberg SJ Lagrande Dual-Cowl Phaeton

Regular readers of my blog will know of my trip to AutoWorld in Brussels, Belgium, where I found a gorgeous example of a 1929 Packard, a car that I was lucky enough to drive many years earlier, and which I fell in love with all over again. Sadly, I must now break the news that the Packard has a love rival: the 1935 Duesenberg SJ Langrande Dual-Cowl Phaeton! 

This stunning car can be found in the Louwman Museum in Den Haag, Netherlands – a museum which houses one of the largest privately owned car collections in the world. This very car, which conjures up images of Mae West, Cary Grant, Greta Garbo and James Cagney, was first owned by First World War fighter pilot, Reginald Sinclair. He paid $20,000 for the car in 1935, a price which comprised $8,000 for the chassis and engine and $12,000 for the bodywork. This was an incredible sum at the time, especially when you consider a brand new Ford would set you back just $500! Still, I know which I would rather have!

seal

 

Get in touch

